Skip to main content
DistrictCampus
CAMPUS

Honors Geometry Lesson Plans

Honors Geometry

Chapter 2 – Reasoning and Proof

 

Monday, Sept 9

2-1 Inductive Reasoning and Conjecture

Obj: Make conjectures based on inductive reasoning. Find counterexamples.

pg 95, 14-23, 31-35, omit 33, 40-43 all

 

Tuesday, Sept 10

2-3 Conditional Statements

Obj: Analyze conditional statement. Write converse, Inverse, and contrapositive of if-then statements.

Start notes on 2.3 Condtional Statements

 

Wednesday, Sept 11

2-3 Conditonal Statements Continued

Obj: Analyze conditional statement. Write converse, Inverse, and contrapositive of if-then statements.

pg 112, 22-31, 39-46all, 48, 49

 

Thursday, Sept 12

2-4 Deductive Reasoning

Obj: Use Law of Detachment and Law of Syllogism

Pg 122, 10-19, 29-32 all (cross out explain)

 

Friday, Sept 13

2-5 Point, Line, and Plane Postulates

Obj: Understand Point, Line, and Plane Postulates

pg 131, 24-29all ( no explain), 51-54 all, 61-68 all

 

Monday, Sept 16

2-6 Algebraic Proofs

Obj: Use algebra to write 2-column proofs.

Use Properties of Equality to write 2-column proofs.

Add AAP and Seg Add Postulate

Pg 139, 9-17 all, 20, and attached worksheet

 

Tuesday, Sept 17

Direct TV Ads/Evelyn video

Notecards for Def, Post and Theorems ( Day 1)

 

Wednesday, Sept 18

Pg 135, 1-20 all, omit 5-8

 

Thursday, Sept 19

Day 2 of Notecards

 

Friday, Sept 20

Shortened Schedule

Intro to Proofs – Use i-pad to understand proofs- if time.

Homecoming

 

Monday, Sept 23

Introduction to Proofs

Objective: To get a basic understanding of how to use reasons in proofs.

Activity: Use i-pad and pass these around to practice.

Reasons can be- Given, Def, Postulates and Theorems that we have covered already, give examples of statement and reason (how it would be used in a proof.) 

Given the statement find the reason.  Given a reason, fill in the statement.

Assessment: Wrkst- Steps in Proofs

 

Tuesday, Sept 24

ACT Aspire

 

Wednesday, Sept 25

Introduction to Proofs Again

Quiz – Steps in Proofs

Objective: To get a better understanding of how to use reasons in proofs.

Activity: Reasons can be-Given, Def, Postulates and Theorems 

From Def, Post, and Theorems that we have covered already, give examples of statement and reason (how it would be used in a proof.) 

Given the statement find the reason.  Given a reason, fill in the statement.

Wrkst – More Steps in Proofs

 

 

Thursday, Sept 26

Lesson: 2-7/2-8 Prove Angle Pair Relationships

Objective: To use the properties of special pairs of angles

Activity: Proofs of: Right Angle Congruence Theorem and Vertical Angles Theorem

Assessment: Wrkst 2.7

 

Friday, Sept 27

Lesson: 2-7/2-8 Prove Angle Pair Relationships

Objective: To use the properties of special pairs of angles

Activity: Proofs of Congruent Supplements Theorem, Congruent Complements Theorem

Assessment: Wrkst 2-8

 


Monday, Sept 30

No School

Parent-Teacher Conferences

12-7 pm

 

Tuesday, Oct. 1

Quiz- Steps in Proofs II

Worksheet 2.7/2.8

 

Skip this year-

Group Proofs – DON’T grade homework first – works much better if they have plenty of time.

 

Wednesday, Oct 2

Go over proofs on overhead.

Lesson:  Review for Test
Objective: To review for Chapter 2 Test
Activity:  Go over homework and pass back papers.
Assessment: pg 161, 11-13, 18-43, omit 28,39 No explain on 24-27

 

Thursday, Oct 3

Quiz – Steps in Proofs -3

Lesson:  Review for Test

Objective: To review for Chapter 2 Test

Activity:  Go over homework and pass back papers.

Assessment: None

 

Friday, Oct 4

Lesson: Chapter 2 Test

Objective: To assess knowledge of skills learned in Chpt. 2

Activity: Test

Assessment: Chpt 2 Test